PSE COVID-19 Response

As a provider of an essential service, we are working to ensure we are here for our customers, our community and our employees as coronavirus impacts the region.

We know some of our business and residential customers might be worried about paying their bills. Here are measurable actions we’ve taken on behalf of our customers:

  • PSE will not be disconnecting customers for non-payment during this time.
  • During Governor Inslee’s “Stay Home – Stay Healthy” order, PSE will only respond to emergency and make-safe situations which require restoration of power or natural gas such as: outages, natural gas leaks/odors, and low-hanging wire. We will also be working to support the essential facilities and services as listed in Governor Inslee’s critical infrastructure throughout our community.
  • PSE will work with our customers on options such as payment plans and choosing a new bill due date.
  • PSE has an energy assistance portal to facilitate access to funds available to income qualified customers.
  • PSE is requiring our employees to maintain social distancing while working in the field. We encourage our customers to do the same when engaging with our employees.

PSE Covid-19 Response
Distributed automation

Resilient and reliable solutions to reduce outages

Distribution Automation (DA) – often described as a "self-healing grid" – is technology that provides real-time monitoring and control of our distribution circuits to help us detect outages more quickly and address them faster and more effectively. While not all power interruptions can be immediately healed, per se, DA does give us a way to greatly reduce their impact on our system and for customers. It also that means PSE doesn't have to dispatch personnel nearly as often to inspect lines and locate problems.

How it works

When a power outage occurs in a DA-enabled area, the system can pinpoint the source of the problem, isolate the fault to the smallest section possible, and restore power to un-faulted sections. Given the prevalence of falling limbs and trees throughout our service area, DA offers a tangible, measurable benefit for our customers.

Here's a basic description of the process:

The location of a fault (outage) is determined based on sensors on the electric system. Once detected, DA technology uses a series of "reclosers" to automatically operate switches on both sides of the faulted equipment to isolate it from the rest of the system. This feature also can help electric crews locate the trouble spots more quickly – or even eliminate the need for a physical inspection. After the fault has been isolated, the DA system re-energizes the un-faulted sections using power from neighboring electrical lines.

How we're deploying it

Eventually, DA technology will be utilized broadly across our service area. For now, we're concentrating our installation efforts on circuits that have, historically, suffered the highest number of outages (e.g., Kenmore, Chico, and Fernwood). Since 2016, PSE has completed work on 90 circuits, more than doubling the number of completed projects from year to year. In highly populated, urban areas, we've seen this technology protect our customers from over 170 hours of outages.